Quantum Innovation Queensland

Communiqué

7 December 2023

The first meeting of Quantum Innovation Queensland (QIQ) was held on 7 December 2023 in Brisbane.

As the first meeting of the QIQ, a welcoming address was given by the Hon. Leanne Linard MP, Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science, and Minister for Multicultural Affairs. This address reinforced the Queensland Government's support for developing the quantum ecosystem, through the Queensland Quantum and Advanced Technologies Strategy, and the role of the QIQ in supporting the Queensland Government in the delivery of the Strategy.

The QIQ was briefed on various governance matters, including the:

- · draft Terms of Reference for QIQ;
- operating principles which are to be applied through QIQ's deliberations; and
- approach to managing any Conflicts of Interest, including declarations of interests by members.

QIQ members' feedback were sought on these matters, with the final Terms of Reference and associated Governance protocols to be brought to the next meeting of QIQ.

The QIQ was further briefed on the status of implementation of the Quantum and Advanced Technologies Strategy, including:

- status of the \$20 million Quantum and Advanced Technologies Co-Investment Program;
- status of development of the commercialisation program cluster, including the \$5 million Queensland Quantum Foundry, \$10 million Quantum Bioinnovator, and \$20 million Commercialisation Infrastructure Program. QIQ agreed that a temporary working group should be formed to further consider this activity; and
- status and expected timing of the \$3 million Innovation PhD program, which is anticipated to be opened by April 2024.

The next meeting of the QIQ is scheduled for 8 February 2024.



QIQ Members in attendance

Prof Kerrie Wilson, Chair

Queensland Chief Scientist

Ms Allison Bambrick, Deputy Chair

A/ Executive Director, Science Development, Department of Environment and Science

Mr Stuart Blackwell

Director, Queensland Defence Science Alliance

Prof Warwick Bowen

Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Quantum Biotechnology

Mr Pat Christiansen

Investment Director - Private Equity, Queensland Investment Corporation

Dr Jane Fitzpatrick

Chief Executive Officer, Australian National Fabrication Facility

Mr Ben Gordon

Executive Director, Economic Policy, Department of Premier and Cabinet

Mr Liam Gordon (for Rachel Crossland)

Assistant Under Treasurer, Structural Policy, Queensland Treasury

Prof Bronwyn Harch

Vice President Industry & External Engagement, Griffith University

Dr Mark Jacobs

Deputy Director-General, Science Division, Department of Environment and Science

Ms Briony Logan (for Justin Carpenter)

Director, Environment and Planning Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Mr Paul Nicholls

Executive Director, Research Partnerships, The University of Queensland

Ms Alejandra (Alex) Romero

Investment Analyst, Main Sequence

Prof Tom Stace

Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Analog Quantum Circuits

Assoc Prof Erik Streed

Deputy Director, Centre for Quantum Dynamics, Griffith University

Prof Andrew White

Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Engineered Quantum Systems

Observers and Guests in attendance

The Honourable Leanne Linard MP

Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science, and Minister for Multicultural Affairs

Ms Kathleen Yeo (for Romila Prasad)

Manager, Strategy and Engagement, Investment Division, Queensland Treasury

Dr Geoff Pryde

Senior Quantum Researcher, PsiQuantum

Mr Michael Frawley

Advisor, Office of the Hon. Leanne Linard MP

Secretariat in attendance

Dr Grant Woollett

Director, Quantum and Advanced Technologies, Department of Environment and Science

Dr Shaeez Usman Abdulla

A/Principal Project Officer, Strategy Policy and Evaluation, Department of Environment and Science

Apologies

Mr Justin Carpenter

Executive Director, Environment and Planning Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Ms Rachel Crossland

Deputy Under Treasurer, Industry, Investment and Commercial, Queensland Treasury

Ms Romila Prasad

Executive Director, Strategy and PMO, Investment Division, Queensland Treasury