Quantum Innovation Queensland

Communiqué

8 February 2024

The second meeting of Quantum Innovation Queensland (QIQ) was held on 8 February 2024 in Brisbane.

At this meeting of QIQ, the committee welcomed Ms Lottie Tant as a new member, replacing Mr Pat Christiansen.

QIQ was briefed on various governance matters, including the:

- revised Terms of Reference and operating principles which are to be applied through QIQ's deliberations, and which were endorsed by QIQ;
- revised Conflicts of Interest Framework which was endorsed by QIQ.

QIQ was further briefed on the status of implementation of the Quantum and Advanced Technologies (QAT) Strategy, including that development of the Innovation PhD program, decarbonisation mission, co-investment program, and commercialisation cluster is underway. These programs are anticipated to open by April 2024.

QIQ provided feedback on the programs which are currently being developed, including advice on:

- the design of the Innovation PhD program, to better support uptake by women and other underrepresented groups;
- QIQ agreed that a working group be established to consider opportunities and challenges for the commercialisation cluster of programs, including challenges associated with accessing intellectual property and managing institutional conflicts of interest; and
- the design of the Quantum Decarbonisation Mission, to ensure its scope is aligned with the opportunities for quantum technology to contribute to decarbonisation.

QIQ also discussed principles which could be applied to ensure ongoing legacy is achieved out of the QAT strategy and funding and broadly agreed on the need for legacy planning and considerations as part of program development and delivery.

The next meeting of QIQ is expected to be held in late March 2024.



QIQ Members in attendance

Prof Kerrie Wilson, Chair

Queensland Chief Scientist

Ms Allison Bambrick, Deputy Chair

Executive Director, Science Development and Office of the Queensland Chief Scientist, Department of Environment, Science and Innovation

Mr Stuart Blackwell

Director, Queensland Defence Science Alliance

Prof Warwick Bowen

Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Quantum Biotechnology

Ms Patricia Rooney (for Justin Carpenter)

A/Executive Director, Environment and Planning Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Mr Harry Cominos (for Rachel Crossland)

Head of Investment, Queensland Treasury

Dr Jane Fitzpatrick

Chief Executive Officer, Australian National Fabrication Facility

Prof Robert Sang (for Bronwyn Harch)

Centre for Quantum Dynamics, Griffith University

Dr Mark Jacobs

Deputy Director-General, Science Division, Department of Environment and Science

Mr Paul Nicholls

Executive Director, Research Partnerships, The University of Queensland

Ms Alejandra (Alex) Romero

Investment Analyst, Main Sequence

Prof Tom Stace

Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Analog Quantum Circuits

Assoc Prof Erik Streed

Deputy Director, Centre for Quantum Dynamics, Griffith University

Ms Lottie Tant

Investment Director, Private Equity, Queensland Investment Corporation

Prof Andrew White

Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Engineered Quantum Systems

Observers and Guests in attendance

Prof Jennifer MacLeod (for Dr Erin Rayment)

Deputy Dean, Faculty of Science, Queensland University of Technology

Ms Romila Prasad

Executive Director, Strategy and PMO, Queensland Treasury

Dr Geoff Pryde

Senior Quantum Researcher, PsiQuantum

Dr Gudrun Seynsche

Director, Research Partnerships, University of Southern Queensland

Secretariat in attendance

Dr Grant Woollett

Director, Quantum and Advanced Technologies, Department of Environment, Science and Innovation

Dr Christine Yeates

Manager, Quantum and Advanced Technologies, Department of Environment, Science and Innovation

Mr Trent Stephens

Manager, Quantum and Advanced Technologies, Department of Environment, Science and Innovation

Apologies

Mr Justin Carpenter

Executive Director, Environment and Planning Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Ms Rachel Crossland

Deputy Under Treasurer, Industry, Investment and Commercial, Queensland Treasury

Mr Ben Gordon

Executive Director, Economic Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Prof Bronwyn Harch

Vice President, Industry & External Engagement, Griffith University

Dr Erin Rayment

Vice-President, Business Development, Queensland University of Technology